Skip navigation

This Week in REST is an idea originating on the REST discussion group and aimed at collaborative collection and publishing of links to papers, articles, discussions and other relevant material focused on the REST architectural style, on a weekly basis. In other words, it’s a weekly summary of REST-related stuff happening around the Web. Collection of links with short descriptions will be handled through a special REST wiki page – each week a new wiki page will be created for collecting links for that week. Anyone may add a link to the wiki after creating an account, so please – contribute if you find anything. When the week is over, the collected links and short descriptions will be published on the REST discussion group and on this blog.

OK, so here are links from last week (Jan 25 2010 – Jan 31 2010). Visit this REST wiki page for contributing links this week.

Around the Web

REST Doesn’t Lie – Looking at what a REST service can guarantee not to change over the life of the service. (by Jan Algermissen)

In Fear of Sub-Requests – The effects of having a media type with numerous links and the number of requests generated by the client. (by Jan Algermissen)

Scaling through rest: why rest clients require cache support – Benefits of using caches in RESTful environments and how it is achieved in the Restfulie framework (by Guilherme Silveira)

Hydras and Hypermedia at London Geek Night Ian Robinson announces that he will be presenting his Hydras and Hypermedia presentation on February 11th at London Geek Night.

HTTP Rorschach test – A set of HTML and XML “ink blots” and some questions around what they mean. (by Mike Amundsen)

Secret URLs and TAG deliberations Discussion on the W3C TAG mailing list on the usage of identifier secrecy as an access control mechanism.

REST discussion group

Understanding Steady States – Discussion around the meaning of steady states.

Forms as links and relations – Discussion on the relation between HTML forms and links.

RESTful Captcha and Statelessness – Approaches for implementing a RESTful CAPTCHA solution.

Software Updates

Restfulie 0.6 – The Restfulie REST framework for Ruby on Rails has released version 0.6.

17 Comments

  1. Superb idea.

  2. Simply wish to say your article is as amazing. The clarity
    in your post is simply excellent and i could assume
    you’re an expert on this subject. Well with your permission let me to grab your RSS feed to keep updated with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please keep up the enjoyable work.

  3. I will right away grasp your rss as I can not in finding your email subscription hyperlink or newsletter
    service. Do you have any? Kindly let me understand so
    that I could subscribe. Thanks.

  4. whoah this blog is great i love reading your posts.
    Stay up the good work! You recognize, lots of persons are
    searching round for this information, you
    can aid them greatly.

  5. Good post. I learn something new and challenging on sites I stumbleupon
    everyday. It’s always helpful to read through articles from other authors and use something from other web sites.

  6. I like the valuable info you provide in your articles.
    I will bookmark your weblog and check again here regularly.

    I am quite certain I will learn plenty of new stuff
    right here! Best of luck for the next!

  7. It’s sad but true fact throughout history and specifically to marketing and sales: sellers over-promise and under-deliver, and prospects are wary and downright suspicious. They will eventually use this act against you later on and self improvement is likely to be hindered with it. As you can see there are a wide range of sales persuasion techniques around you every day that you will not always instantly notice or ever be aware of.

  8. I know this if off topic but I’m looking
    into starting my own blog and was wondering what all is needed to get set up?
    I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny?

    I’m not very web smart so I’m not 100% sure. Any recommendations or advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Appreciate it

  9. I absolutely love your blog and find almost all of your post’s to be what precisely I’m looking for.
    Would you offer guest writers to write content to suit your needs?

    I wouldn’t mind publishing a post or elaborating on a lot of the subjects you write about here.

    Again, awesome blog!

  10. Howdy! Someone iin my Facebook group shared this site with us so I came to check it out.
    I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m bookmarking
    and wijll be twweeting this to my followers!
    Outstanding blog and excellent design and style.

  11. I like thhe helpful information you supply in your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your blog and test once more right here frequently.
    I’m rather certain I wipl learn many new stuff proper right here!
    Beest of luck for the following!

  12. Hi
    I’m thinking about taking prohormones, do you think this is good
    idea for advanced bodybuilder like me? People are satisfied with the results after prohormones cycles, just google for – prohormones factory – worth a try?

  13. naturally like your web site however you need to take a look at the spelling on quite a few of your
    posts. Many of them are rife with spelling issues and I to find it very troublesome
    to inform the truth then again I will surely come back again.

  14. Hello, all is going nicely here and ofcourse every one
    is sharing information, that’s truly excellent, keep up writing.

  15. Thanks to my father who shared with me about this webpage, this website is in fact amazing.

  16. I read this article fully regarding the comparison of most recent and previous technologies,
    it’s amazing article.

  17. What’s up, the whole thing is going perfectly here and ofcourse every one is sharing data, that’s
    genuinely excellent, keep up writing.


39 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. […] This week in REST Weekly roundup of news about the REST architectural style About « This Week in REST – Volume 1 (Jan 25 2010 – Jan 31 2010) […]

  2. […] 3 of This week in REST, for Feb 8 2010 – Feb 14 2010. For more information on this blog see this post and visit this REST wiki page for contributing links this week. Enjoy your weekly dose of […]

  3. […] 4 of This week in REST, for Feb 15 2010 – Feb 21 2010. For more information on this blog see this post and visit this REST wiki page for contributing links this […]

  4. […] 5 of This week in REST, for Feb 22 2010 – Feb 28 2010. For more information on this blog see this post and visit this REST wiki page for contributing links this […]

  5. […] 6 of This week in REST, for Feb 22 2010 – Feb 28 2010. For more information on this blog see this post and visit this REST wiki page for contributing links this […]

  6. […] 7 of This week in REST, for Mar 8 2010 – Mar 14 2010. For more information on this blog see this post and visit this REST wiki page for contributing links this […]

  7. […] 2010 – Mar 28 2010. It’s been a slow week for REST. For more information on this blog see this post and visit this REST wiki page for contributing links this […]

  8. […] been a busy week for REST with lots of great articles. For more information on this blog see this post and visit this REST wiki page for contributing links this […]

  9. […] 11 of This week in REST, for Apr 5 2010 – Apr 11 2010. For more information on this blog see this post. Also, from this week there will be a change in the way links for the blog are collected. Since no […]

  10. […] 12 of This week in REST, for Apr 12 2010 – Apr 18 2010. For more information on this blog see this post. If I missed an interesting blog post, discussion or paper – just e-mail me the links, tweet […]

  11. […] 13 of This week in REST, for Apr 19 2010 – Apr 25 2010. For more information on this blog see this post. If I missed an interesting blog post, discussion or paper – just e-mail me the links, tweet […]

  12. […] 15 of This week in REST, for May 3 2010 – May 9 2010. For more information on this blog see this post. If I missed an interesting blog post, discussion or paper – just e-mail me the links, tweet […]

  13. […] 16 of This week in REST, for May 10 2010 – May 16 2010. For more information on this blog see this post. If I missed an interesting blog post, discussion or paper – just e-mail me the links, tweet […]

  14. […] 18 of This week in REST, for May 24 2010 – May 30 2010. For more information on this blog see this post. If I missed an interesting blog post, discussion or paper – just e-mail me the links, tweet […]

  15. […] 19 of This week in REST, for May 31 2010 – Jun 13 2010. For more information on this blog see this post. If I missed an interesting blog post, discussion or paper – just e-mail me the links, tweet […]

  16. […] 20 of This week in REST, for Jun 14 2010 – Jun 27 2010. For more information on this blog see this post. If I missed an interesting blog post, discussion or paper – just e-mail me the links, tweet […]

  17. […] 21 of This week in REST, for Jun 28 2010 – Jul 12 2010. For more information on this blog see this post. If I missed an interesting blog post, discussion or paper – just e-mail me the links, tweet […]

  18. […] 22 of This week in REST, for Jul 13 2010 – Jul 25 2010. For more information on this blog see this post. If I missed an interesting blog post, discussion or paper – just e-mail me the links, tweet […]

  19. […] is more of a “This past 4 weeks in REST” post. For more information on this blog see this post. If I missed an interesting blog post, discussion or paper – just e-mail me the links, tweet […]

  20. […] 24 of This week in REST, for Aug 23 2010 – Sep 5 2010. For more information on this blog see this post. If I missed an interesting blog post, discussion or paper – just e-mail me the links, tweet […]

  21. […] 25 of This week in REST, for Sep 6 2010 – Sep 19 2010. For more information on this blog see this post. If I missed an interesting blog post, discussion or paper – just e-mail me the links, tweet […]

  22. […] 26 of This week in REST, for Sep 20 2010 – Oct 3 2010. For more information on this blog see this post. If I missed an interesting blog post, discussion or paper – just e-mail me the links, tweet […]

  23. […] 27 of This week in REST, for Oct 4 2010 – Oct 19 2010. For more information on this blog see this post. If I missed an interesting blog post, discussion or paper – just e-mail me the links, tweet […]

  24. […] 28 of This week in REST, for Oct 20 2010 – Nov 1 2010. For more information on this blog see this post. If I missed an interesting blog post, discussion or paper – just e-mail me the links, tweet […]

  25. […] 29 of This week in REST, for Nov 2 2010 – Nov 20 2010. For more information on this blog see this post. If I missed an interesting blog post, discussion or paper – just e-mail me the links, tweet […]

  26. […] 30 of This week in REST, for Nov 21 2010 – Dec 12 2010. For more information on this blog see this post. If I missed an interesting blog post, discussion or paper – just e-mail me the links, tweet […]

  27. […] and that it was more a This *month* in REST blog. Anyway, for more information on this blog see this post. If I missed an interesting blog post, discussion or paper – just e-mail me the links, tweet […]

  28. […] 32 of This week in REST, for Jan 8 2011 – Jan 28 2011. For more information on this blog see this post. If I missed an interesting blog post, discussion or paper – just e-mail me the links, tweet […]

  29. […] 33 of This week in REST, for Jan 29 2011 – Feb 8 2011. For more information on this blog see this post. If I missed an interesting blog post, discussion or paper – just e-mail me the links, tweet […]

  30. […] 34 of This week in REST, for Feb 9 2011 – Mar 6 2011. For more information on this blog see this post. If I missed an interesting blog post, discussion or paper – just e-mail me the links, tweet […]

  31. […] 35 of This week in REST, for Mar 7 2011 – Mar 26 2011. For more information on this blog see this post. If I missed an interesting blog post, discussion or paper – just e-mail me the links, tweet […]

  32. […] This week in REST, for August 11 2011 – September 22 2011. For more information on this blog see this post. If I missed an interesting blog post, discussion or paper – just e-mail me the […]

  33. […] week in REST, for September 12 2011 – November 16 2011. For more information on this blog see this post. If I missed an interesting blog post, discussion or paper – just e-mail me the […]

  34. […] week in REST, for November 17 2011 – December 29 2011. For more information on this blog see this post. If I missed an interesting blog post, discussion or paper – just e-mail me the […]

  35. […] of This week in REST, for December 30 2011 – March 6 2012. For more information on this blog see this post. If I missed an interesting blog post, discussion or paper – just e-mail me the […]

  36. […] 43 of This week in REST, for March 7 2012 – April 3 2012. For more information on this blog see this post. If I missed an interesting blog post, discussion or paper – just e-mail me the […]

  37. […] of This week in REST, for April 4 2012 – August 24 2012. For more information on this blog see this post. If I missed an interesting blog post, discussion or paper – just e-mail me the […]

  38. […] This week in REST, for August 25 2012 – September 21 2012. For more information on this blog see this post. If I missed an interesting blog post, discussion or paper – just e-mail me the […]

  39. […] week in REST, for September 22 2012 – November 25 2012. For more information on this blog see this post. If I missed an interesting blog post, discussion or paper – just e-mail me the […]

Leave a Reply

